Are you eligible for NDIS support for Cerebral Palsy - Maple Community Services

Are you eligible for NDIS support for Cerebral Palsy

Cerebral Palsy NDIS

Your questions on eligibility for NDIS support for Cerebral Palsy answered

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) provides support for Australian citizens living with Cerebral Palsy (CP) with the goal of enhancing the well-being of participants and encouraging their inclusion in the community.

To be eligible for NDIS support for cerebral palsy (CP) you must fall below the age of 65, be an Australian resident, and be able to produce evidence that it is a significant disability that affects your daily functions. The NDIS evaluates how CP impacts your mobility, communication, and self-care.

At Maple, we empathise with the unique and varied challenges faced by families living with cerebral palsy. We are committed to ensuring that you are able to access the support and care you rightfully deserve.

Are you or a loved one eligible for NDIS funding?

Is cerebral palsy covered by NDIS?

If you or your loved one are living with cerebral palsy in Australia, it is very likely that you are eligible for funding with the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS). The NDIS provides support for people living with permanent and significant disabilities in Australia and CP, being a long-term physical condition that affects movement and posture, most commonly falls under the criteria for NDIS support. 

The type and extent of support provided by the NDIS can vary based on you or your loved ones specific needs and circumstances. It can include funding for therapies, assistive technology, personal care, and other support services that are necessary for improving your ability to perform daily tasks and participate in the local community.

To access NDIS support, those living with cerebral palsy or their families must follow the application process, which includes providing evidence of their disability and how it impacts their daily life. The NDIS will in turn assess their eligibility and, if approved, work with you to develop a personalised plan that outlines which supports and services you can gain funding for within the scheme.

What is the cerebral palsy diagnostic criteria for NDIS?

Cerebral palsy generally falls under the List A of NDIS funding. This includes conditions that are likely to meet the criteria for disability requirements. However, to fall under List A the diagnosis must be classed as severe and assessed as level 3, 4 or 5 on the Gross Motor Function Classification System (GMFCS) by your healthcare team. If you are classified as level 1 or 2 then further assessment will be required by the NDIA to determine your eligibility for funding.

In addition to the diagnostic criteria, you or your loved one must be under 65 years of age, be an Australian citizen or hold one of two visa options that allow you to reside in Australia. Within your application you must also provide diagnostic evidence and reports from your neurologist, paediatrician or rehabilitation specialist.

The NDIS uses this information to determine whether your disability significantly impacts your functional capacity and whether your need for supports and services will reduce these impacts and improve your quality of life.

What is the Gross Motor Function Classification System (GMFCS)?

The Gross Motor Function Classification System (GMFCS) is a standardised tool used to describe the gross motor function of children and young people living with cerebral palsy. The system is designed to classify the severity of mobility limitations and it is categorised into 5 distinct levels. These levels are especially useful for setting realistic goals and planning treatments.

Level I 

Children at this level can walk indoors and outdoors without limitations. They can also perform usual activities such as running and jumping but might not have the same coordination as their peers.

Level II

Children will have some limitations with outdoor environments or unfamiliar settings. They can walk indoors and outdoors and climb stairs holding onto a railing, but experience difficulty with uneven surfaces, inclines, or in crowded areas.

Level III

Children at this level can sit independently and stand with assistance. They may walk using a hand-held mobility device in indoor settings. For longer distances or outdoor mobility, they might require a wheelchair.

Level IV

Children require physical assistance or powered mobility for most of their daily activities. They may be able to walk for short distances at home with physical assistance or use powered mobility or a body support walker in other settings.

Level V 

Children at level 5 are severely limited in their ability to move independently. They require extensive use of a wheelchair and often need assistance with all areas of physical mobility, including transfers and positioning.

Reach out today to our friendly and professional team at Maple, to find out more about how the NDIS can support you with a Cerebral Palsy diagnosis. 

How much funding can you get from NDIS?

The Maple Commitment

Here at Maple, we are committed to achieving your goals! Providing Support is the backbone of our purpose, we listen and act in realtime, and we empower our community through equal opportunities. It is our focus on building relationships with each and every one of our individuals, that sets us apart from the rest.

Enquire Today

Whether its a query about the services we provide, or just a general enquiry, we would love to hear from you!